Rattlerow Farms wins NPA AIG Member of the Year Award

Rattlerow Farms has been voted the NPA AIG Member of the Year, narrowly beating Peter Crichton into second place in an online vote.

The award was presented to Rattlerow’s Robin Lawson by NPA chairman Richard Lister at the National Pig Awards, in London, on Monday. The awards were hosted by British number one tennis player and TV presenter Andrew Castle (right, in the picture).

The award is unique as it is the only one voted for by the industry in an online poll, hosted on the Pig World website. The NPA nominated a shortlist that also included Andrew Maskery Associates, Bishopton Veterinary Group, Meadow Quality and Peter Crichton – and these were put to the vote, with breeding company Rattlerow coming out on top.

The company was established by Philip Lawson in 1954, specialising in the genetic improvement of pigs in the heart of Suffolk, and the company remains in the family’s capable hands today.

Its core business remains the development and improvement of the genetic lines. Its four AI stations and 15 nucleus and multiplication farms situated from Scotland in the North of the UK to Essex in the South are responsible for the production of high health boars, gilts and semen for customer farms in the UK and abroad.

Richard congratulated Rattlerow on the ‘well-deserved’ award and said the company had built an enviable reputation for quality and customer service over the years.

Get Our E-Newsletter - Pig World's best stories in your in-box twice a week
Will be used in accordance with our Privacy Policy

About The Author

Editor of LBM titles Pig World and Farm Business and group editor of Agronomist and Arable Farmer. National Pig Association's webmaster. Previously political editor at Farmers Guardian for many years and also worked Farmers Weekly. Occasional farming media pundit. Brought up on a Leicestershire farm, now work from a shed in the garden in Oxfordshire. Big fan of Leicester City and Leicester Tigers. Occasional cricketer.