Chris Brant Award nominations are open

Nominations are open for the NPA Chris Brant Award, recognising those who ‘consistently go the extra mile for our industry’.

NPA CBA logo (1)Named after well-known producer and pig industry activist Chris Brant, who died in July 2009, and won last year by Pig World’s own Sam Walton (pictured), the 2018 award will be presented at the National Pig Awards in November.

“The judges will be looking for someone who consistently goes the extra mile for our industry,” said award sponsor and chair of judges Richard Longthorp.“The days of blockading supermarkets as the only hope for survival are behind us, thank goodness.“But as I look over our forward-looking, more-confident industry today, I see many potential Chris Brant Award candidates, working at the coal-face, and creating a positive spin for the whole industry.”

To make your nomination, visit:

“It’s important the industry recognises the contribution made by its exceptional individuals. Where would we be, otherwise?” says Richard, who will again chair the judging panel.
He said it was often almost impossible for judges to pic a single, ‘so if you have nominated someone in the past, and they didn’t win, please try again this year’.NPA Chris Brant Award is named after well-known producer and pig industry activist Chris Brant, who died in July 2009. Chris Brant was one of the leaders of British Pig Industry Support Group and helped lead direct action against retailers in 1998-2000.He embodied all that was good about this industry and the ethos of the award., Mr Longthorp added. “He was hard-working, blunt, rambunctious, a talented pig producer and as straight as a gun barrel. And he never, ever, failed to step up to the mark when his industry needed him,” he said.


2017 Sam Walton
2016 Richard Lister
2016  Special award — NPA’s Georgina Crayford, Zoe Davies, Lizzie Wilson, Andrea Vickers
2015 Jimmy Butler
2014 Digby Scott
2013 Jonathan French
2012 Peter Crichton
2011 Nick White
2011 Special Award — Digby and Ann Scott
2010 Nigel Penlington
2009 Hugh Crabtree
2008 Fred Henley
2006 Richard Longthorp
2006 John Rowbottom
2004 Lynda Davies
2002 John Millard
1999 John Cusson
1999 Chris Brant

Get Our E-Newsletter - Pig World's best stories in your in-box twice a week
Will be used in accordance with our Privacy Policy

About The Author

Editor of LBM titles Pig World and Farm Business and group editor of Agronomist and Arable Farmer. National Pig Association's webmaster. Previously political editor at Farmers Guardian for many years and also worked Farmers Weekly. Occasional farming media pundit. Brought up on a Leicestershire farm, now work from a shed in the garden in Oxfordshire. Big fan of Leicester City and Leicester Tigers. Occasional cricketer.