2014 National Pig Awards finalists announced

The judges of the inaugural National Pig Awards convened on Monday, July 28 to assess all the entries received.

Reflecting on the day, the chair of judges, Andrew Knowles, said: “Judging these awards was extremely challenging as the competition was strong.

“It was great to see so many excellent entries – proving once again how good the people in our industry are. Congratulations to all finalists. It was a pleasure and an honour to be the chair of judges and now we look forward to the evening itself!”

The judging panel consisted of some of the most well-known individuals in our industry. Those of you who know the judges personally will not be surprised to learn that strong opinions were aired leading to a thoroughly enjoyable and lively debate.


Single Site Producer of the Year
> Limestone Farming
> Traquair Farms
> Alexander & Angell (Farms) 

Multiple Site Producer of the Year
> Peddars Pigs

Contract Finisher of the Year
> Paul Howland
> David Hillier
> Thomas Wright

Herd Productivity Award
> H&C Blaken & Son
> Heath Barn Farm
> Blanchard Enterprises

Innovation of the Year
> Coxford LSB Pigs
> Thomas Wright

Investor in Training Award
> Rattlerow Farms
> Wayland Farms
> Shedden Farms

Young Pig Farmer of the Year
> Harry Heath – M&J Heath
> Thomas Wright – Thomas Wright
> David Goodier – LM & E Goodier

Stockman of the Year
> Grant & Jo Morrow – Kenniford Farm
> Gary Potts – Shedden Farms
> James Brice – Countess Wells Breeding

Information Technology Award   
> Harry Heath – M&J Heath
> Andrew Freemantle – Kenniford Farm

Producer Retailer of the Year
> East Riding Country Pork
> Anna’s Happy Trotters
> Blythburgh Pigs

Trainee of the Year 
> Sam Norman – Wayland Farms
> Charlotte Garner – Crosshills Pigs

Pedigree Breeder of the Year
> Guy Kiddy – MJ Kiddy & Sons
> Sally Lugg – Primrose Herd

Get Our E-Newsletter - Pig World's best stories in your in-box twice a week
Will be used in accordance with our Privacy Policy

About The Author