Nominations now open for 2017 Chris Brant award

NPA CBA logo (1)Nominations are now open for the Chris Brant Award, which each year recognises those prepared to go the extra mile on behalf of the pig industry.

The award, named in honour of larger-than-life pig farmer and campaigner Chris Brant, was deservedly won last year by National Pig Association (NPA) chairman Richard Lister, with a Special award going to the NPA staff (pictured above).

The 2017 award will once again be presented at the prestigious National Pig Awards ceremony in London in November.

Richard Longthorp, who chairs the judging panel and is a previous winner himself, said this award was dedicated to those who put their industry first.

“Chris Brant, who died in July 2009, was hard-working, blunt, loud, passionate and a bloody good pig farmer. He was a massive force for good in our industry, never more so than as one of  the organisers of the British Pig Industry Support Group ‘night riders’, which in 1999-2001 blockaded retail distribution centres and kept a pig for three months  in Parliament Square to highlight unfair treatment being dished out to pig farmers.

“This award in his name is not about doing your paid job well or even very well. It is about recognising those who consistently go that extra mile, without personal reward, when their industry needs it most.”

  • To nominate an individual or an organisation you think has stepped up to the mark, click here, stating your nomination, your reasons for nominating and your name and email address. The closing date for nominations is July 31, 2017.

Mr Longthorp said: “In the past the judges have had an incredibly difficult time picking just one, or in last year’s case, two, names from so many inspirational entries. So, if your nomination was unsuccessful in the past, please try again. These exceptional people deserve the recognition of their peers.”

Mr Lister added: “Winning last year’s Chris Brant award was a huge honour for me and the NPA team – it meant so much to get that recognition from your peers. So please, rack your brains and get your nomination in!”

Previous winners


Cusson John AIG


Brant Chris AIG


Davies Lynda Producer


Millard John Producer


Longthorp Richard Producer


Rowbottom John Producer


Henley Fred Producer


Crabtree Hugh AIG


Penlington Nigel AIG


White Nick AIG


Crichton Peter AIG


French Jonathan AIG


Scott Digby AIG


Butler Jimmy Producer


Lister Richard Producer


NPA Team Special

Get Our E-Newsletter - Pig World's best stories in your in-box twice a week
Will be used in accordance with our Privacy Policy

About The Author

Editor of LBM titles Pig World and Farm Business and group editor of Agronomist and Arable Farmer. National Pig Association's webmaster. Previously political editor at Farmers Guardian for many years and also worked Farmers Weekly. Occasional farming media pundit. Brought up on a Leicestershire farm, now work from a shed in the garden in Oxfordshire. Big fan of Leicester City and Leicester Tigers. Occasional cricketer.