National Pig Awards deadline is approaching

The 2016 National Pig Awards are open for entries, but not for much longer – the closing date is July 1.

Now in their third year, the awards are designed to recognise and reward best practice and encourage wider adoption throughout the industry. Brought to you by Pig World, in association with the NPA, AHDB Pork and the BPA, the organisers encourage all producers to consider entering.

The awards categories this year are as follows.

> Indoor Producer of the Year
> Outdoor Producer of the Year
These categories require a written entry to include evidence of the following: records for production and cost of production (farrowing rate, numbers born, weaned and sold per sow, pre weaning mortality, replacement rate %, DLWG, FCR, days to slaughter), herd health planning and biosecurity, contributions to industry (outside of your own business); new investments and initiatives in buildings/equipment or generally; staff motivation and training; general appearance of unit; and initiatives such as marketing activity, farm shop or similar carried out by the business.

Contract Finisher of the Year
This award is based on key performance data (growth rates, FCR and so on). Judges will also consider the proportion of pigs sent that are within the weight range (“the box”) and grading information. In addition, other general welfare and business information will be taken into account.

Technical Innovation of the Year
This is an award for farmers or farm businesses, not suppliers. To win this award you must demonstrate any initiative, new idea or business development concept that has come to fruition in the past 12 months and is demonstrably new in your business.

Investor in Training Award
Advances in modern technology mean attending courses or on-farm training is essential. The winner of this award will be able to demonstrate how he/she has invested in staff training.

Producer Retailer of the Year
This award is to encourage and reward all marketing efforts by producers that are employed to increase sales and establish brands, and includes brand development, selling through multiple retailers and farm shops.

Pedigree Breeder of the Year
Open to all breeders of pedigree pigs, judged by sector-specific experts against a range of criteria. These include: the number of pigs sold to other breeders; performance at county shows; key breeding statistics; and processes in place to prevent inbreeding.

The Herd Productivity Award
This award recognises the importance of herd productivity and is a data-based award given to an organisation that can demonstrate continued excellence or significant improvement in pigs per sow per year.

Trainee of the Year Award
This award is open to all British pig unit personnel who can show how training is benefiting both their career and livestock performance on their unit. Where possible, this can be supported by unit performance data. Nominations are welcome from both experienced individuals and newcomers to the industry.

Young Pig Farmer of the Year
(Entrants must be aged 40 or younger on November 9, 2016) Your written entry must include details of the following: involvement in the business; demonstrations of new initiatives; and examples of commitment to the industry.

Stockman of the Year
Entries for this category can be nominated by the employing farmer or the employee him/herself. However, if they’re from the stockman directly they must include a reference from the employer. Judges will be looking for: evidence of commitment to the job; any innovation or similar that the stockman has been responsible for; evidence of “going the extra mile” and what this has achieved; and a reference from the employer supporting the individual stating why he/she is an appropriate winner.

Unit Manager of the Year
Entries for this category can be nominated by the owner or by the employee him/herself. If the latter, a reference from the owner will be required. Judges will be looking for evidence of how the manager has driven the business forward as well as excellence in motivating staff, hitting targets and commitment to record keeping.

Like access to Pig World itself, information on finalists and winners will be closely controlled and restricted
to bona fide members of the industry. The winners will be announced at a prestigious awards ceremony at The Lancaster Hotel, London, on Wednesday, November 9, 2016. All finalists will receive two complimentary tickets to the awards ceremony and will be able to network with the whole industry at the event.

The closing date for entries is Friday, July 1. If you would like to enter, email: [email protected] or visit:


Get Our E-Newsletter - Pig World's best stories in your in-box twice a week
Will be used in accordance with our Privacy Policy

About The Author