Good luck to all National Pig Awards finalists

The best of the British pig industry will be celebrated tonight, as the fourth National Pig Awards takes place at London’s Lancaster Hotel.

A total of 14 awards will be handed out, including Indoor, Outdoor and Overall Producer of Year, won last year by Bedfordia Farms. There will be awards recognising the best Herd Productivity, Contract Finisher, Pedigree Breeder, Stockman, Unit Manager and Producer Retailer.

The future will be recognised in the Trainee of the Year and Young Pig Farmer of the Year awards, with an award also for the company deemed to be the best Investor in Training. There will be awards for Technical Innovation of the Year and the NPA AIG Member of the Year, voted for by readers of this website.

The Chris Brant Award, won last year by NPA chairman Richard Lister, with a special award going to the NPA staff team, will also be handed out at the Pig World event.

The event continues to go grow – tonight’s will be the biggest yet.

Pig World publisher Simon Lewis said: “We have once again received good numbers of entries across the categories and, as a judge myself, I can confirm that the standard was extremely high – a credit to the industry.

“I have been hugely impressed by the passion, drive, commitment and skill shown by all the entrants. Tonight will be a night to celebrate the best of British!

“Congratulations to all the finalists – and good luck tonight!”

For details of the winners, keep an eye on this website tomorrow.

Get Our E-Newsletter - Pig World's best stories in your in-box twice a week
Will be used in accordance with our Privacy Policy

About The Author

Editor of LBM titles Pig World and Farm Business and group editor of Agronomist and Arable Farmer. National Pig Association's webmaster. Previously political editor at Farmers Guardian for many years and also worked Farmers Weekly. Occasional farming media pundit. Brought up on a Leicestershire farm, now work from a shed in the garden in Oxfordshire. Big fan of Leicester City and Leicester Tigers. Occasional cricketer.